NEW ARTIST: Vusi Nova Debuts “I’d Rather Go Blind” | Video

20130722-033934.jpg

Vusi Nova channels Etta James for debut single.

It isn’t often that an artist gets, or even accepts, the opportunity to cover a legend. Especially when that legend is known as the Queen of Soul. Admittedly, when the opening keys kicked in for Vusi Nova’s rendition of “I’d Rather Go Blind”, I was a little weary that the Etta James classic would be hard done by. In retrospect, I am simply stunned that a male voice could fit the mould of the song’s notes so effortlessly. Nova’s falsetto is one to be envied by many a tenor, and although a heartbreaking song as this demands its original laboured blues tempo, Vusi’s pop rendition not only works but is accessible to modern audiences.

The video doesn’t hurt either. We love his channeling of typical 1920s jazz lounge, complete with pin-up girls, a cellist, suspenders and classic microphones. We’ll keep an ear out for this young talent and his old soul. It sounds like we’ve yet to hear the best of him.

8 thoughts on “NEW ARTIST: Vusi Nova Debuts “I’d Rather Go Blind” | Video

  1. Pingback: Watch: Vusi Nova Talks “I’d Rather Go Blind” & Debut Album | V Entertainment | feedback musiq

  2. Pingback: Watch: Vusi Nova Talks “I’d Rather Go Blind” & Debut Album | V Entertainment | Feedback Musiq

  3. Damn dats a one blazing out of this wold version..vusi big ups boy, bt pls remind me nt 2 tak my gal 2 yo concert man .I dnt wana lose her 2 u,

Leave a Reply

